An Observable account makes it possible for you to use the Observable platform and collaborate with others.
Create an account
To get started, click the Sign up button on https://www.observablehq.com.
If you fork a notebook before you have created an account, you will be asked to sign up to save your fork; the dialog box will look very similar to the one below.
Continue with... (or email)
After you click Sign Up, you are asked to select an authentication provider. You can choose from several organizations where you may already have an account.
If you choose to sign up with your email address, you'll receive an email link from
firstname.lastname@example.org to confirm your email address. (If you do not see the email, be sure to check your spam folder.)
Create your display name
After choosing an authentication method, you'll see the Welcome to Observable screen where you enter your display name.
Your account profile consists of the following items:
- Avatar: Every user on Observable has an avatar, which either gets auto-populated from your authentication provider or generated by Observable. If you want to change your avatar after signup, go to your Settings and scroll down to Personal profile. You will see a link to upload your own avatar image.
- Display name: This is the name you entered at signup, and appears on notebooks that you create. You can change your display name at any time by going to your Settings and scrolling down to Personal profile. You will see a form to change your display name.
- Username: Your username was auto-assigned at signup. This name will be used in the URLs for your notebooks. You can change this name once by going to your Settings and clicking the Change username button. Note that this does not 'free up' your existing username, since you may have shared links with this username.
Delete an account
Deleting your Observable account means that all of the following will be removed:
- Your authenticated identities/user IDs.
- Your notebooks.
- Your comments in notebooks.
- Your metadata such as secrets, database connections, etc.
In addition, you will be removed from any Observable teams that you are a member of.
Please be certain that you do want to delete your account before proceeding.
You can delete your Observable account from your Settings page:
On the General page of Settings, click the Delete account button:
If you are a team owner, you will be asked to first remove yourself from all teams that you belong to:
If you are the only member of a team, you will have to delete the team before you can delete your account. In order to do that, please email email@example.com.
After that, or if you are an individual account owner, you see the following modal:
Your account will then be scheduled for deletion. If you have specified your email address, you will receive an email confirmation of the deletion request.